B for… #AtoZChallenge

Oh what a wonderful response I got for the first post from so many gracious bloggers. Thank you my lovelies. Stay blessed.

I am being super generous and penning down all the vintage words that start with a B. ๐Ÿ™‚

Word: brabbling (v)

Origin: from Dutch brabbelen, to jabber.

Meaning: To argue loudly about something inconsequential/trivial.

Sentence: “Quit brabbling about whose turn it is to fill the water jug”, shouted the mother.

Oh I have been brabbling for the 29 years of existence on this planet. Dont you sometimes take a sentence, that was said in jest, seriously? For me that’s the most common case. I over think and then I get the verbal diarrhea.

Image source: Google
Image source: Google

Word: beef-witted (n)

Origin: unknown. However it seems to have orignated in the year 1590’s

Meaning: Someone stupid or dull or to possess the wits of a cow.

Sentence: These days the reality tv is for the beef witted.

Never mind we all behave like one at times and lets not count the number we meet over a life time.

Image Source: Google
Image Source: Google

Word: bookwright (n)

Origin: The term ‘Wright’ comes from the circa 700 AD Old English word ‘wryhta’ or ‘wyrhta’, meaning worker or shaper of wood. Later it became any occupational worker. There are many different kinds of wrights.

Meaning: An Author/writer of books.

Sentence: “Anyone can claim o be a bookwright these days”, read the newspapers.

I hope to be one someday. I love to experiment in my kitchen and have some serious concoctions to be proud of. ๐Ÿ™‚

Image source: Facebook
Image source: Facebook

Word: belly timber (n)

Origin: In the early 17th century as an everyday term. In old English “timber” meant house. It then graduated to mean material for building the house. Hence the term Belly timber came to define the material that builds the human body.

Meaning: Food.

Sentence: We are packing some delicious and home made belly timber for the pot luck.

Why did we stop using that word? I guess we will never know. ๐Ÿ™‚

Image Source: Google
Image Source: Google

Word: borborygmus (n) [bawr-buhrig-muhs]

Origin: Neo-Latin Greek – borborygmรณs meaningย  intestinal rumbling .

Meaning: A rumbling sound made by the movement of gas in the intestine .

Sentence: We are rushing to see a doctor who can help Jaya with the borborygmus.

Oh what a find you have been borborygmus. It happened to me while giving an interview. I had not eaten anything because of all the butterflies in the tummy. It made me red in the face ๐Ÿ˜›

Image Source: Google
Image Source: Google

Hope you loved to read about these facinating words just as much as I did.

More later people.

This post is a part of the A-Z blogging challenge.

A2Z-BADGE-0002014-small_zps8300775c

I am doing this with the fabulous Marathon Bloggers group.

Love,

Pinksocks

 

11 thoughts on “B for… #AtoZChallenge

  1. When i get notification for a new comment from a new reader, i get a borborygmus ;P Because The Sinhas at No .302 is not for beef witted as it might not provide any bellytimber. However, brabbling on stories of uninterrupted middle class family is what i do these days, quite often. Because to be a bookwright is about self love ๐Ÿ˜‰

    sinhasat302.blogspot.in
    B for Baby on the Way Blush Blush #atozchallenge


    PS: I am adding you in my fav bar for your name. Pinksocks, i have one pair for gyming lol

  2. Oh my favourite for today is borborygmus ๐Ÿ˜€ How often have I felt it ๐Ÿ˜‰ Loving the series, Pallavi ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ha ha ha. This is so super-awesome (if that’s a word) yesterday I was looking online to find words starting from B and I did find few but you penned them down amazingly. Loved the writeup! Lovedddd it.

  4. Borborygmus.. just saying it does something to my stomach. And I’m going to use brabbling pretty frequently!

Leave a Reply

