Kaleeras some more please

Day 13- Marathon Bloggers

I wonder if I have seen any bride all over the country without kaleeras. It saddens me as they are just ornaments for them. Something that shall make their attire “complete” or “snazzier”.

Well what on earth are these? They are the dingling dangling beautiful ornaments that look like these.

kaleeras3 kaleeras

They shall be tied to the kada [Bangle] generally one that we get in gurudwaras. So besides being “nice things that shall go with my dress” what are they?

  • They are blessings from the family and friends for a beautiful life ahead.
  • It is said that the noise they make shall shoo all the trouble.
  • They also take the buri nazar away
  • Bride then showers kaleeras on the unmarried friends and cousins with a hope that some fall on them and they get married soon.

kaleeras4Ā  kaleeras5

  • She wears them throughout the wedding ceremony and then once she goes to a temple or gurudwara, she can take them off and keep it as a memory of the most beautiful day of her life.
  • In many traditions there is dry coconut and makhaanas that are woven as kaleeras and tied to the bride. They are like a re assurance that she will be well fed in the new house. She wont have to ask for food. šŸ™‚

They come in for all price points. For my wedding mom got me 24 of the simple ones and 4 of the most stunning ones šŸ™‚

So please please next time that you see anyone wear these, do make sure you tell them what they really mean. Lets pass a bit of culture, love and blessing.

kaleeras2

This post is part of Day 13 of The Marathon Blogging_Dec 2012 event.

Love

Pinksocks

10 thoughts on “Kaleeras some more please

  1. Awww, I still have mine somewhere same at my mom’s place! And I loved wearing them. It was a nice feeling, ya! Just that they did end of getting tangled with my lehenga again and again šŸ˜‰

    1. Dont remind me of the tangling šŸ˜¦ They got stuck in my paranda šŸ˜ Imagine me lifting hand for the varmala and the paranda comes along.

      1. Lol that must be one sight! But as the bride you are entitled to do anything you want šŸ™‚ Am sure you had some fan following around to help you get free!!

  2. Oh wow!!! For me the only way i’ve seen them is on tv or movies. I knew it meant that if it is drops on an unmarried girl she’s ready for marraige..thanks to that video of Malaika Arora long ago. Thanks for this lovely bit of information. šŸ™‚

  3. My friend wore them on her wedding and since then I loved the idea and wanted to have em on my wedding too.. Slight problem they would look totally out of place in an andhra/marathi wedding šŸ˜› So I just see them and be happy.

  4. Wow, I did not know that. Lovely post. I’m going to share it with a Sikh friend of mine. You know, I’ve always had this idea of writing a book – on wedding customs across the world. Would make for interesting research and a good read, right? This one, for example, is so lovely!

  5. iam a south indian married to a punjabi baniya.. i was so excited to wear one.. but i didnt šŸ˜¦ … love d whole idea.. went running to check out the brides kaleera in one of the recent marriages.. people didnt understand what happened.. but that lehenga and kaleera is such a deadly combo man!

Leave a Reply

